Origami Fortune Teller

Hello lovelies! Things are pretty crazy for me at work (that’s what happens when you work at a youth summer camp and the first campers arrive in 12 short days). I’ve been working on getting our arts and crafts ready for the summer and perhaps that is why I ended up creating some simple origami using 7 Dots Studio’s Fortune Teller collection kit.

I love origami. It’s a fun craft to work on with kids and adults alike. There are simple designs like the box or fortune teller all the way through to complex cranes, dragons, and ships. As I was thinking about origami and what I might make I was struck by the name of one of the new paper collections from 7DS, Fortune Teller, and how it shares its name of one of the first origami pieces I learned make.

We’ve all made them, fortune tellers, in school they helped us with decisions ranging from what we were going to do on the weekend to who we were going to “marry” when we grew up … all the really important decisions. They were great fun and supremely simple to craft. All you need is paper or card stock and scissors or a paper trimmer. With a few simple folds, you’re off on a fun and interactive adventure of paper folding.

The fun thing is with the papers in the kit and the stickers you can easily create some fun and interactive pieces in a lazy afternoon. Below are directions for both the fortune teller and the basic box.

FortuneTeller1
FortuneTeller2

Here is the fortune teller I created using the paper and stickers from the 7DS collection kit. Make sure to visit the store to see all the new kits and embellishments.

FortuneTeller3  FortuneTeller4

FortuneTeller5  FortuneTeller6

Thank you for sharing some of your time with me today. Until next time, remember, creativity and imperfection live together in all we do. “Grace is the face love wears when it meets imperfection.”

~xoxo
Beanie

