Homegrown 30-Day Junk Journal

Good morning, Crafty Peeps!! I have a new design team project share featuring 7 Dots Studio’s “Homegrown” designer paper collection.  I made a junk journal or “JJ” for short, to record my thoughts, photos, doodles, really whatever I can stuff in here for the month of June.  It’s been a while since I’ve documented my life and I often feel better when I do, I can put my deepest thoughts or frustrations in here and it’s a way of just letting go, so to speak.

7dotshg1

I made this journal using a Tim Holtz folder style book to put may signatures (pages) in.  I started by grabbing some 8.5 x 11 white card stock and some a legal size envelopes and large mailers and placed them in a deep casserole dish with hot water and tea bags (20 to be exact) and let sit for about 30 minutes.  I took the dish over to the sink and drained out the tea and removed tea bags. I returned to my kitchen counter and began to gently remove the papers and laid them out on cookie racks. I placed a fan close by to speed up the drying time.  I normally would have laid them outside to dry on a cookie sheet but it has been raining forever here in Texas.

In the meantime, I took my designer papers and cut them to size, distressed the edges, and set aside.  I pulled out my Tim Holtz journal binder and removed the elastic bands, because I knew I wasn’t going to use them for this project.  I painted the cover, front and back (inside and out) with gesso. To create some dimension, I applied molding paste using a craft knife over a brick stencil. I set that aside to dry. Once dry, I painted certain areas where I knew my flowers would be to add depth and dimension with grey chalk paint, black, and white acrylic paint. After that was dry I was able to fussy cut around the “Happy” sheet from the paper collection and made a few tear spots too to make it look old and distressed and adhered it to the cover using Mod Podge (see below).

7dotshg5  7dotshg6

After the tea stained papers were dry, I took one individual sheet and measured the size needed to fit in my journal, cutting off the excess on each additional sheet of paper.  Next, I scored in the center of each one, including the envelopes, folding them over and layering them in a book type fashion.  I measured and marked for the holes, punching them with an awl and sewing them together using some carpenters thread.

Next, took the last pages, which is really the first and the last page and centered them in the Tim Holtz journal and glued them inside of the cover using Mod Podge so the pages attached to the inside hinge.  I also decided to add some gesso to the pages and used pages from an old book to give the plain page some extra excitement.

7dotshg4

For all the decorated pages from the collection I cut them to fit in the journal, making pockets and covering envelopes with Mod Podge. Once dry I hot glued in my Washi Tape, the gorgeous pink and black roses into the book. I also added laces and “flat” flowers from my crafty stash to give my JJ a more shabby chic effect.

7dotshg2 7dotshg3

I hope you like what I have made and I hope this inspires you to make a beautiful creation too. I can’t wait to see what you all create! Below is a video of how I made this Junk Journal. Thank you for looking and have a wonderful crafty week!!

XOXO,
Kimmy

Instructional Video

  Supplies Used:
7DS Homegrown Collection Kit
LSG Autumn Leaves Starburst Set
Make & Bake Flowers Pearl Rose Washi

