Home Grown: Tell Your Story

Hi, friends! It’s been a while since I’ve had the opportunity to share creativity with all of you and I’m so excited to be back today with a new mixed media project that uses the brand new collection from 7 Dots Studio (7DS), Home Grown. I knew when I saw the new 7DS collections that this one was going to be a favorite and working with it has further enhanced these initial impressions. I love how the collections from 7DS allow you to tell stories … rich imagery, colors, and language come together to enhance the ability to tell a story through them. It’s a wonderful quality of their products.

I started with a simple chipboard album, which I promptly dismantled, removing two of the panels. I painted the covers using Victorian Velvet Distress paint. I also sponged Victorian Velvet Distress ink on each of the remaining interior panels. TIP: My new go to glue and sealer is Tim Holtz’ Distress Collage Medium (matte finish). It is so easy to work with and is both a great glue and sealer.

HomeGrown7  HomeGrown8  HomeGrown9  HomeGrown12

Next, I began laying out the book, choosing papers for backgrounds and other embellishments (stickers, chipboard, and elements). Once each page was roughly laid out, I began cutting panels to size and die cutting edges and other pieces. There are so many wonderful stickers, tags, and embellishments that I had a hard time choosing what all to use.

HomeGrown1  HomeGrown4  HomeGrown2  HomeGrown5  HomeGrown6  HomeGrown13

Once everything was cut I began gluing things down, adding brads, and attaching stickers and other embellishments. As I worked through the book a theme of love and life’s journey began to emerge. It was fun to build this book, which is ready for someone special to journal in and add pictures and other keepsakes. I also created a small, removable booklet that fits in the pocket on one of the pages. I used Wink of Stella pens to add color and shimmer to the chipboard pieces.

HomeGrown11

Thank you for sharing some of your time with me today. Until next time, remember, creativity and imperfection live together in all we do. “Grace is the face love wears when it meets imperfection.”

~xoxo
Beanie

Supplies Used
7DS Home Grown Collection Kit
7DS Home Grown Chipboard
7DS Home Grown Photopolymer Stamps
Prima Color Bloom Spray Cotton Candy & Pearl White

