Lost & Found Treasure Chest

Hello, friends! Today I have a project using Kaiser Craft’s 6-drawer cabinet. This was very simple to build and customize using 7 Dots Studio’s Lost & Found paper collection. Kaiser Craft has several different kits to choose from and they are all reasonably priced, making them great gifts.

Lost&FoundChest1  Lost&FoundChest3

I started by building the box, gluing it together as I went using Helmar’s 450 glue (a new favorite of mine). There are a few videos out there on the best order to glue the pieces together, but I ended up figuring out my own steps and found that I didn’t have to “work fast” or break the seal of pieces already together when adding in the last pieces. Glue the two horizontal shelves in place first, then add the left and right sides, finally adding the top and bottom pieces. Again, I used Helmar’s 450 to glue everything together. You could use wood glue, but this adhesive by Helmar covers a variety of surfaces and bonds quickly while allowing for a little “wiggling” when needed.

Lost&FoundChest4

Next, I measured the back, sides, and top so I could cut paper to fit (top: 8 7/16″ x  4″, back: 8 4/16″ x 9 3/16″, and sides: 9 3/16″ x 4″ – I cut slightly smaller, hence the 16th measurements, because I wanted some of the wood to show) and painted the box using some transparent Yellow Iron Oxide acrylic paint. I chose transparent so that the grain of the wood would show through. You could just as easily choose an opaque paint, which would not allow the grain to show through. For the sides, back, and top I chose the 12×12 sheet, “Stained” from the Lost & Found collection. I also chose “Sticky Notes” & “Typewriter” for the drawer fronts and some imagery for the back and sides of the box.

Lost&FoundChest2

I also used several sayings and images from the Words and Elements sticker sheets. There are some wonderful sentiments in this collection and it was fun deciding what to use in the design of the box. Before putting the drawers, which are pre-cut and scored from heavyweight chipboard, together I traced the drawer front onto my patterned paper and fussy cut a cover for each one. I also added some coordinating flowers, UmWow chipboard heart, pearl trim, and metal corner protectors to the back and sides of the box.

Lost&FoundChest7  Lost&FoundChest6

Normally, I would use matte ModPodge to apply the paper and other elements, but I wanted to try out the new Collage Medium (matte) from Tim Holtz’ Distress line. This was the first large-scale project where I used this new medium and I have to say, it’s wonderful – I’m going to need a gallon! Bubbles are always the worry when applying paper over another surface. Over time, many bubbles will “smooth out” but often there are a few that never do and that has always annoyed me. Collage medium is not this way – it is amazing for applying paper over another surface, bonding quickly and smoothly every time. It’s a new favorite!

TIP: Apply an even, thin layer of the medium to the surface and another thin, even layer to the paper. Put the paper down and gently smooth from the center toward the edges. When it’s in place and smooth, apply a final, thin layer of medium over the top to seal and reinforce the edges/seams.

Thank you for sharing some of your time with me today. Until next time, remember, creativity and imperfection live together in all we do. “Grace is the face love wears when it meets imperfection.”

~xoxo
Beanie

Supplies Used
Lost & Found paper collection
12×12 sheets: StainedSticky Notes, & Typewriter
Stickers: Words & Elements
UmWow chipboard heart

