Dare to Be … AMAZING

Hello, friends! I’m so happy to be back on the blog today with a new 6 x 6 canvas I made using some of the wonderful supplies available at the Nani Ke Ola store.

I really enjoy making little mixed media canvases like this one. They are great gifts and while I’m waiting to give them a permanent home, are inspirational to me as well. There’s nothing like seeing a happy little canvas with an uplifting message to brighten the day!

For this piece I used one of my favorite sentiments, “Dare to Be as AMAZING as You Truly Are”. I stamped it in the lower corner using black ink and clear embossing powder.BeAmazing4I started with a flat 6 x 6 canvas board that I picked up on Amazon. These canvases come in many sizes and are usually sold in packs of 10 or 12. Using Prima Color Bloom spray in Glistening Waves, I colored the canvas and set it aside to dry. I chose Wedding Garden 03 for the focal paper and cut a 5.75″ x 5.75″ piece that I tore on the diagonal and adhered to the panel. I added a row of chevrons using the UmWow Chevron Mask and some Bo Bunny Sugar Glitter Paste.BeAmazing5To add dimension to the piece I decided to include a couple of chipboard pieces. I chose the bird and the fern branch from the UmWow Floral Collection. Using Lindy’s Stamp Gang Magicals Under the Boardwalk (Tilt-a-Whirl Teal and Merry-go-round Green) and Tim Holtz’ new Collage Medium I created custom paints for these chipboard pieces. TIP: I love the new Collage Medium! Using it not only allowed me to add the color but also seal it too.BeAmazing3I chose some Prima Marketing alterable flowers along a few from my stash. I colored the flowers using a variety of mediums (LSG Magicals in Orange Creamsicle and Raspberry Lemonade and Sunshine Color Bloom spray).BeAmazing2Jennifer had included some vintage oval doilies in my last supply shipment and I decided to incorporate part of one on this piece. I sponged Distress ink in Milled Lavender and Squeezed Lemonade onto the doily and glued it down using Fabri-Tac. TIP: Many adhesives will show through thin materials like the doily, but not Fabri-Tac, which is one reason I love it so much! A white-washed “be FREE” chippie and a pearl headed stick pin were added last to complete this piece.BeAmazing1Thank you for sharing some of your time with me today. Until next time, remember, creativity and imperfection live together in all we do. “Grace is the face love wears when it meets imperfection.”

~xoxo
Beanie

Supplies Used
Wedding Garden 03
Color Bloom: Glistening Waves
UmWow Chevron Mask
UmWow Floral Collection
LSG Magicals: Under the Boardwalk
Prima Marketing alterable flowers

