DIY Wedding: Love Banner

Nani-Ke-Ola-Love10Searching for ideas or a gift to give a bride to be? Give her something from the heart. This wedding banner is an easy and inexpensive gift to make and only takes a couple of hours to complete. To make this elegant shabby chic banner I used Craft & You “My Wedding” 6 x 6 paper pad.  I used only 6 sheets, so I will have plenty left to make more or use on another project.Nani Ke Ola Love1I began my project using white craft paint and a package of 4 chipboard hearts that I purchased at a local craft store.  I painted both sides and let dry.Nani Ke Ola Love2The next step was really easy, I pulled out 4 pages from the “My Wedding” collection that had very light patterns.  I wanted to make sure the background was not too overwhelming.  I tore the paper into pieces and then glued on with a quick drying clear craft glue.
Nani Ke Ola Love3I wanted to give it an antique effect, so I used some vintage photo distress ink and wiped on lightly and evenly with a cosmetic sponge.Nani Ke Ola Love4For the next step I used clear Stickles instead of glue, because, one, the tip is finer and I can get even lines and, two, it is thicker, so it keeps it from running out of line or off my project.
Nani Ke Ola Love5I then grabbed my silver glitter and administered it evenly along the edges of the heart and set aside to dry completely.Nani Ke Ola Love8After it was completely dry, I grabbed some vintage style laces and glued on with my glue gun. I used the glue gun here because I wanted it to be cleaner and dry really fast.Nani Ke Ola Love9Here was the best part … my wonderful fellow crafter, Rina Meyers, sent me a generous amount of laces from a vintage wedding dress.  I cut the flowers out to fit into the heart shape and then again used my glue gun to attach them.Nani Ke Ola Love6Just a few more steps, with the flowered patterned papers I cut two of them into 3 inch squares and scored all the squares at 1/4 inch on one side then using my double sided sticky tape, I bent them in half and stuck it together to make a fan, then with the other 3 inch square I did the same and then on the flat side I attached more of the double sided sticky tape and attached both fans on the flat side to make a circle.Nani Ke Ola Love7This was a bit of a tricky part here, I didn’t realize at first that I wanted to make the circles appear pinker, so I got out my Lindy’s Stamp Gang “Cosmopolitan Pink” starburst and spritzed all the circles. Were I making this again, I would suggest spraying the squares first and letting them dry before you do the scoring or taping, because one of mine ripped due to the wetness on the paper. Oops! LOL.

Once they dried I used a pink rose colored Stickles around the circles and set to dry. Once they were completely dry I was able to glue the letters on in the center of the circles. I still thought my banner needed some bling, so I glued on pink Swarovski Crystals with my clear craft glue. Next, I attached the circles onto the center of my hearts with the glue gun and then hot glued a long strand of baby pink ribbon making sure the letters were about three inches apart and allowing about 12 inches from each side to allow the banner to hang up. For that final touch, I added different types of laces and ribbons in the middle of the letters to give it a more shabby chic look.

I hope you enjoyed my tutorial and hope that this will inspire you to make a banner for yourself or a friend.  Have a wonderful week!!

XOXO~ Kimmy

Supplies Used
Craft & You My Wedding 6×6 paper pad
Lindy’s Stamp Gang Starburst set
Glue gun & clear craft glue
Double-sided sticky tape
Assorted ribbons, laces, & appliques
Silver Glitter & Swarovski Crystals (Pink)
Vintage distress ink
Clear &  pink colored Stickles

