Joy Christmas Card

Christmas Preview – Day 6

NKO JOY christmas cards

Hello and welcome to the final day of the second Nani Ke Ola design team Christmas preview week. Hopefully you’ve been following the blog all week, gaining some inspiration from my fellow design team members! This holiday season I have been busy doing a lot of DIY projects to save money for the holiday’s. Today I want to share with you a Christmas card I made using Craft & You Design’s, 6 x 6 Christmas Story paper pad. As you can tell from my past posts I have been getting a lot of use out of this paper stack. I love the shabby chic/vintage look and designs in this paper stack. I purchased a 50 count package of blank 6.5 x 5 blank cards and envelopes, glitter alpha stickers, and the rest I had in my stash.

nkocard3

First, I began by re-creasing my blank card, making sure the edges met evenly.  Then I decided on a theme for my card. I knew I wanted to use the pink sheet in the “Christmas Story” stack and then found another page that I felt could give the effect of faux holiday ornaments. I liked the cream page with fewer designs better than the one with lots of pattern and design, as the loud patterns would distract from the alphas I wanted to use. I used the Spellbinders Nestabilities die, “Label Twenty-Four”.  I this die has a vintage look about it so it meshed well with my shabby chic theme. Using the cream page I cut out three dies and then distressed them with a antique gold distress ink.

nkocard1

Next I added my letters. I did use a little clear glue on the back of the stickers to make sure that the letters would stay put. The mail can be pretty rough on handmade items and it’s better to be safe than sorry. I wanted the ornaments to appear 3d, so I added small foam pop dots on the back and then attached them to the card.

nkocard4

After the were ornaments were added to the front, I cut some twine and glued just underneath the ornaments and added a small drop at the top to make them appear as though they were dangling. I used a thin strip of all purpose glue around the edges of the card and gave the top edge a thicker line and let the glue drip at the top to give it a melting snow look and then added some embossing powder. I didn’t heat the powder because I liked the snow like effect. I set it aside to dry.

nkocard6

My final step was to add double sided sticky tape to the back of the pink paper and attach it to the white card and voila! You now have a beautiful handmade card to send to a loved one. I hope you like my project and please feel free to ask any questions or comments down below. Have a safe and fabulous Holiday season!!

XOXO ~ Kimmy

Supplies Used
6 x 6 Christmas Story

