Remember This … Art Journal Spread

Christmas Preview – Day 5

Happy December everyone and welcome to the second Nani Ke Ola Christmas preview week. I am back with another project to help get you in the Christmas spirit. I really wanted to go outside my usual craft style and give art journaling a try. I purchased a journal a few months ago and this is my first finished spread.

nkodec1

For this double page entry, I colored the background with some ink spray I made by mixing Lindy’s Stamp Gang- Bonjour Butter Magical with water into a spray bottle. I also took the same magical and mixed it into some thinned out white acrylic paint making a slightly darker shade than the spray, this was easy because you can choose how much powder you need to achieve the color you are looking for. I used  2 stencils from 7 Dots Studio’s and sponged the paint onto the background.

I made the center tree by layering Red Stitches and Christmas Cross Stitch washi tapes from Make and Bake. The trunk is Holiday Snowflake washi also from Make and Bake.

nkodec3

I stamped some images across the bottom as well as the top to make the ornaments. I colored the ornaments using C’est La Vie Cerise magical in watercolor fashion.

nkodec4

The border was colored in with Copic markers and a PITT pen from Faber Castel. The title is from Pretty Little Studio’s “Holiday Words“.

nkodec2

I showed this layout to a friend and she told me that, “Art journaling is so personal…” and I have to agree. This project has lit a fire in me and has given me another creative outlet.

Thank you for looking and I hope this has inspired you to step outside your comfort zone and embrace the holiday season.

XOXO,

Lysa

Supplies Used
C’est La Vie Cerise Magical- Lindy’s Stamp Gang
Washi Tapes- Make and Bake
Bonjour Butter Magical- Lindy’s Stamp Gang
Soulmates stencil-7 Dots Studios
Destination Unknown stencil- 7 Dots Studios
Holiday Words- Pretty Little Studios

