Joyeux Noel: 12×12 Layout

Christmas Preview – Day 2

Holiday greetings everyone! Kathleen here to share a Christmas inspired layout with you on day two of our Christmas preview. Going through old photo albums I found this picture of my son as a toddler experiencing his first memorable Christmas experience. Just look at all of that red hair, lol! Today he shaves his head because he has so little hair. Hard to believe isn’t it!

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 008-001

For this layout I selected the stunning 7 Dots Studio Warm Cider paper from the Yuletide collection. Since I couldn’t decide which side I loved more I used both! I cut a 5″ x 12″ piece of the stripe side and adhere it to the 12′ x 12″ piece.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 002

With a simple dot stencil I created a flourish from the top left corner down to the lower right corner with modeling paste. I did a bit of stamping with first a small snow flake then numbers stamps. Then with watered down gesso I white washed a bit of the striped side to soften the lower half giving it a feel of snow falling.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 003

The holly chipboard was given two coats of gesso then lightly edged with chocolate Brownie Coloringz and added red micro bead for the berries. 7 Dots Studio – Soul Mates-chipboard piece was painted in gold and adhered to the postcard that frames the picture. The heart chipboard given one coat of gesso then topped with BoBunny’s silver glitter paste. I came back later and lightly applied the glitter paste to the dots causing them to glitter and sparkle in the light.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 005
1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 009

With a series of  7 Dots Studio – Yuletide 12×12 tags and a couple of cutouts I created a frame work for the picture. Tip: Save items that you find on packaging like this white tassel that came with a set of sheets I bought.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 010

Now it’s time to add a few flowers, cheese cloth, ribbon, and bling!

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 011

Thank you for stopping by and taking a peek. I hope what you have seen here today has inspired you to let your own creativity take flight! Come back all week for more Christmas inspiration.

Have a very Merry Christmas!
b763c-kathleen
Supplies Used

7 Dots Studio – Yuletide elements 6×12
7 Dots Studio – Yuletide collection kit
7 Dots Studio – Yuletide 12×12 tags
7 Dots Studio – Soul Mates-chipboard

