A Time Keeper’s Journey: Mixed Media Layout

I was in Ireland a couple of years ago for my son’s wedding. The reception was held across the street from Bunratty Castle. It is such a a wonderful folk village. This is a photo I took of my daughter looking into a stream that runs through the village.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 021

When I saw these papers from Marion Smith’s Junque  Gypsy line I just knew they were perfect for this layout idea!

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 022

I started with the Nota Bene paper as my base and randomly applied touches of brown and peach water color. Then I cut out a few note cards from the Faux Pas paper and a strip from the Tinker paper and began layering them around the page.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 023

The filigree chipboard frame was first painted with Lindy’s Stamp Gang Ponderosa Pine Olive. Then I randomly applied, copper, pollen, clear, and green micro beads. This gives my frame added interest and appeal. Next, I matted my picture and applied a piece of cardboard underneath to give it lift and placed it over the center of my note card layers.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 024

With the base of my layout complete it is now time to add embellishments. I chose a few flowers, bead filigree,  moss, cheese cloth, more micro beads, couple of butterflies, lace, and thread.

1-nani ke ola dec. 2015 013

Thank you for stopping by! I hope what you have seen here today has inspired you to let your own creativity take flight!

Supplies Used
Marion Smith – Junque Gypsy – Nota Bene, Faux Pas
Marion Smith – Time Keeper – Tinker
Marion Smith – Junque Gypsy paper flowers
Lindy’s Stamp Gang – Autumn Leaves Starburst set

