Little Moments

Happy fall ya’ll! Kathleen here with a very special mixed media layout. My family flew in from around the country for my 60th birthday this year, and since it’s not easy getting everyone together at the same time I marched them down to our neighborhood trail and took family portraits. It was hot and we were wilting, but looking through them I found this precious shot of my son and his family and it is the focus of today’s layout.

I love to use tags and the cut out cards on the back of the papers, so I gathered them up and created a fabulous collage style layout. Below is a shot of the basic layout before I added the focal photo.

On the top left side of the layout (approximately 1/4 of the way down the page) made a horizontal cut about 3″ long. Next, I repeated this process on the lower right side of the layout, again, approximately 1/4 of the way up from the bottom.

Using my favorite border punch on the slits, I applied some masking and modeling paste using two different masks for added texture. I also applied strips of drywall tape. Below is a shot of what this stage of the layout looked like when I was done.

Next, I added mists and a touch of stamping across the layout.

Now it’s time for the collage work. Using the border punch slit at the top as a guide, I cascaded the tags and die cuts down from the left side toward the lower right slit, tucking and layering as I went. I finished it up with some flowers and a touch of ribbon.

I hope this layout inspires you to let your own imagination take flight. Be sure to stop by the store for all of your scrapping supplies. Some wonderful new goodies are being added for the holidays!
 kathleen signature

