Antique Clock Ornament

nko Christmas Clock 1

I have been making ornaments like a mad woman for the last couple of weeks and am so excited to share this new vintage themed Santa Clock.

The paper collection that I used is called Christmas Story by Craft & You Design 6×6 paper pad.  I love the vintage look and the colors are stunning.  It screams shabby and I just had to use it again, in fact I am sure I will use the entire pad since I am making most of the ornaments and garland on my tree this year.

To start my project I decided to use colors that, one, matched the theme of my tree this year, and, two, were complementary to the papers I used.  I decided to alter my vintage alarm clock by Tim Holtz.  I started by taking the back off and then using a clear primer paint that you can purchase at any local hardware store.  I then tried to use regular acrylic paint but it was not covering very well and then decided to use “Golden Acrylics” C.P. Cadmium Red Medium. I used this color in particular because it is a “true red”.  I painted 3 coats of this on, if you want to shorten your time, you can purchase a Krylon Red Spray that is available for painting on patio furniture and I suggest using one that has the primer already in the paint, that will cut out another step.  Set aside to dry.

While your clock is drying I grabbed my paper pad and then chose the pine cone paper. I love the Tree look plus it has touches of poinsettia in the picture which pulls out the red.  I have a circle die and used my big kick to make a die cut, if you don’t have one just use the back of the clock to trace around to make your circle and cut out with your scissors.  I then used a very thin glue on the back of the cut out and then placed on the inside of the back  piece to the clock. I then pulled out some pear flat backs and placed the flat backs in a circle about 1/8 inch in from the edge of the paper.  If you position them too close the backing will not fit into the clock properly. I allowed the pearls to dry and used my Santa Die cut and placed pop dot stickers on the back to allow Santa to float above the flat back pearls. I then used a wooden oval that had 25 stamped on it and used vintage distress ink to give it a darker wood look. I then painted some Minwax Polycrylic protective finish in glossy on top to keep it from fading.

At this point I decided it needed a snowy/icy look to it so I used my paint brush and some clear tacky glue on the inside lining of the clock and sprinkled clear crushed Czech glass all around until it was completely covered and again set aside to dry.

nko Christmas Clock 2

Finally we are almost done, now just placed the back on the clock and then I used the Minwax again on the red paint to seal it.  I waited for it to dry overnight before adding any outside decorations too it, just to prevent any scratching of paint. And Voila!! It’s done, just add color coordinating ribbon to hang it on the tree.

I hope you like what I have made and would love to see yours, just comment below. Thank you and have a fabulous crafty week!!!

XOXO~ Kimmy

