Shabby Chic Violin Shadow Box Ornament

Christmas Preview – Day 4

shabby violin 1a

Hello and welcome to day four of the Nani Ke Ola design team Christmas preview week. The most wonderful time of the year is almost here and to start it off with a bang I created a shabby chic violin shadow box ornament.

I decided this year to DIY my own ornaments using the gorgeous paper collection I received from Nani Ke Ola was just screaming “Pick Me!! Pick Me!!”. Nah, just kidding, but no really, I knew from the moment I picked it out that is was going to be used to make my Christmas a shabby one!  The paper collection I used is called, Christmas Story and it’s from the Polish Designers Craft and You Design.  I must say that their entire paper collections are stunningly shabby just like this one.  If you are into shabby chic or vintage style scrapbooking then this paper collection is your forte.

I started off by purchasing a small violin shadow box and traced it onto the pink 6×6 designer paper. Once done, I cut it out, trying to keep inside the line. I adhered it to the inside of the base wood piece with glue. Using my bone folder, I smoothed out the paper, making sure there were no wrinkles or bubbles and set aside to dry. Next, I grabbed a bottle of “clear” craft glue and attached the rest of the layered violin pieces together.

I applied matte white paint to the wood and then used my scissors to create worn “distress” marks on the wood. After that was dry I used Mod Podge to get the iridescent glitter to stick to the wood. After that dried, I glued the back piece on and added the final decorations to the inside. The result is a beautiful DIY ornament. I created a video tutorial that I hope you enjoy.

Stay tuned for the rest of the week for all the wonderful inspiration coming up now through Saturday and visit the shop to see all the new treats for the Christmas season. Up tomorrow Kathleen.

XOXO~ Kimmy

shabby violin 1b shabby violin 1c

Supplies Used

Christmas Story (6×6 paper pad)
Wooden Ornament
Crafters glue (clear)
Glitter Embellishments
Flowers
Sno-Tex
Mod Podge
Laces & Seam Binding Ribbon

