C.A.S. 12×12 Layout

Happy November everyone! Lysa here on the blog today sharing with you a clean and simple (CAS) layout using 7 Dots Studios “Yuletide” collection.

First, I want to say that I am very excited to see that this line has a very neutral feel and can be used for masculine projects as well as feminine. I have 4 boys and it is very hard for me to find collections that work well for the male gender and this one is very versatile. Here is how the layout turned out.

The background paper is “Gingerbread” from the Yuletide collection and I flicked some watered down cheap white acrylic paint all over the paper and let it dry. I used a section of the “Chestnuts” paper and glued it across my page.

I colored a chipboard frame using white gesso, which I tinted with Lindy’s Stamp Gang MagicalsBonjour Butter” and “Rusty Lantern Lime” until I achieved the desired color. Next, I matted my photo with black paper and placed it into the frame.

My embellishments included a tag, die cuts, sticker elements, and word stickers from the collection. I made a few of them 3D by adhering them with foam dots. Here are a few more views:

Here are a few tips to help make your clean and simple layouts pop:

  • Edge your elements, papers, and stickers with ink. This will help give everything a little definition. I chose to use chalk ink because it is fast drying.
  • Choose a few elements on your finished layout and outline them with a contrasting color. This will help them to stand out especially if the background paper is busy. I chose to outline my project using a white paint pen.
  • Adding faux stitching gives definition and interest (I used the same white paint pen).

Thank you for looking and happy crafting!

***Lysa***

Supplies Used:

7 Dots Studios- Yuletide Collection Kit
Yuletide- Element Stickers
Yuletide- Word Stickers
Yuletide- Tags
Lindy’s Stamp Gang- Magicals
White acrylic paint
Star Frame Chipboard
White Paint Pen

