Reef Keeping Altered Clock

Hello everyone! Lysa here on the blog today. I am back with a fun altered project showcasing some products from Nani Ke Ola.

Some of you who follow me are aware that I have another hobby besides crafting, others may not. My second love is reef keeping. It’s amazing that I have my own mini ocean in my home. Reef tanks are full of color and texture, this is what has inspired me to make this altered project.

For this altered clock, I decided to focus on more of the chipboard elements from the paper collections rather than the paper itself. Here is how the final project turned out.

To start, I found an old brass clock at a garage sale and harvested the gears for my trinket collection, using the shell of the clock for this piece. I cut a small piece of chipboard scrap and glued it to the back of the clock to cover the holes then I gave the whole thing a generous coat of black gesso.

 

Once dry, I colored the interior of the clock with a mixture of matte medium and Lindy’s Stamp Gang (LSG): Caribbean Blue magical. I added some faux sand to the bottom of the clock by mixing micro beads and gel gloss medium. Once dry I colored a jelly fish from the Destination Unknown: Chipboard Elements and some UmWowStudios: Fish Confetti using gelatos and distress paints. I glued these to the back of the clock.

The outside of the clock was given a faux patina finish by painting and blotting a mixture of white gesso mixed with LSG: Merci Beacoup Mint magical.

Next, I took more fish confetti and glued them to some wire so I could adhere them to the bottom in the sand, creating a very nice 3D effect. I also glued down some sea shells onto the sand bed. Adding the wooden fence and the sea grass to the front reminded me of what you would see along the shores and beaches of our local coastlines and finished the piece.

I added a starfish to the front which is sitting on a sand dollar chipboard piece from UmWowStudios. Here is another view of the finished product.

Thank you for looking. Happy crafting!

~Lysa

Supplies Used:

Destination Unknown: Chipboard Elements
LSG Magical: Merci Beacoup Mint
LSG Magical- Caribbean Blue
UmWowStudios: Fish Confetti
UmWowStudios: Sand Dollars

