Choose to Shine: A Mixed Media Layout

This is an old photo of my sister and I down on the pier in Gulf Port, Ms. It was a beautiful fall day and perfect weather for sail out on the water. Those were the days before Hurricane Katrina which left so much of the Mississippi coast line devastated.

For this layout I used the very moody 7 Dots Studio-Cold Country-Lost Letters.

After creating the frame for my picture from 7 Dots Studio-Lost and Found-Vignette strips and deciding where to place it on the layout I then used 7 Dots Studio-Destinations Line elements-stencil with modeling paste to create a bit of interest. Using the blues from Lindy’s Stamp Gang Autumn Leaves collection and from LSG Autumn Leaves-Side Kicks I spritzed and splashed color onto my background.

I used a piece of cheese cloth to create a “rushing wave” that I filled with shells, starfish, and blue sea glass. A piece of UmWow-Netting chipboard, left in its natural state, is tucked underneath the wave. The word chippie beautiful was embossed with blue embossing powder and roughed up with brown chalk ink for a distressed look.

A bit of random stamping and the project is complete!

I hope what you have seen today inspires you to let your own creativity take flight. Please stop by the store to see what is new, what is on sale and stock up on items you need for your future creations!

Supplies Used

