Shabby Chic Vintage Junk Journal

vintage jj1

     Hi Y’all,

     Today, I wanted to share with you a Junk Journal that I designed using Craft&You Design Paper collections.   For my JJ as they call them, I used three gorgeous paper collections and 2 12×12 ephemera sheets.  The 12×12 ephemera sheets were Vintage time cutting elements and Vintage time cutting elements 2.  For the paper collections I used 3 6×6 paper pads. The first being Vintage time, My Wedding and Spring garden.

To begin my project I first prepared my papers that I was going to use, I grabbed twelve 12×12 white pieces of card stock scored them at the 6″ line and turned the paper clock wise one time and scored again at the 6″ mark.  I then cut my paper one time at the 6″ inch line and then folded them in half and set aside until I had finished scoring and cutting all the pages.

For the second stage I took all my 6×6 papers that I was going to use, which ended up being almost all three stacks.  I wanted each page of my junk journal to have decorated card stock on them. So for the decorated card stock I scored cut it at 5 7/8ths on the right side and then the same measurement off the bottom and then used my paper distress tool to make the edges look warn on all sides.

Now I’m ready to get things going.  You can also use distress ink or sprays but I chose to keep that white linen looking edges for my journal. Then I grabbed my decorated paper and used double-sided sticky tape and glue stick (only for the areas that don’t have tape) and then attach each page to the white card stock, keeping attention as to the paper colors being coordinated to the opposing side.

vintage jj2vintage jj4   vintage jj5

At this point you want to make the cover of your journal, in my video (will be down below) I made the old mistake of making my cover before I made my pages, at that point it was too thin and found out that all the pages I had made into signatures and kettle stitched needed to be take apart :(. I’m only mentioning this to you in hopes that others not make that same mistake. So I was able to save my book and used a different form of binding.  I used a sturdy jute string and wrapped it around the page and tied it to the spine. The video is easier to see exactly how I was able to do it.

Finally, I decorated my pages and cover with my 12×12 ephemera and other yummies from my stash.  I hope you like my junk journal and if you have any questions or comments I would love to hear from you. Thank you for looking and if you have time please check out my short video. Please check out Nani Ke Ola’s store so you can purchase these fabulous shabby papers for your own.

Supply List

Spring Time 6×6 Paper pad

My Wedding 6×6 Paper pad

Vintage Time 6×6 Paper pad

Vintage Time 12×12 Cutting Elements- Girls

Vintage Time Cutting Elements

double-sided sticky tape, Glue stick, 12 sheets of 12×12 white card stock, cutting board, paper cutter, seam binding ribbon, 3 pieces of 6 1/2 chip board and any other ephemera or stickers you may have in your stash.

Video: https://youtu.be/JwJb9waT6rc

