Shabby Chic Junk Journal (7 Dots Studio Messy Head)

nanikiolaproj3a

Hi Y’all,

I’m here again sharing a new design team project for Nani Ki Ola.  Can I just say I love 7 Dots Studio’s Messy Head paper kit collection? It is just beautiful. I love the mixed media look of  these papers, but what I enjoy the most is the gorgeous pastel colors, which gives it the ability to be used in any shabby chic project.  If you know me, you know I am a shabby chic lover!!

I knew from the start that I wanted to make a junk journal (JJ) with this collection. I also have a love of chipboard albums and decided to marry the two, lol.  The first thing I always do is gesso the edges of the chipboard pieces as well as about 1/2″ in on the face of each piece.  Then I cut decorated papers and distressed the edges of the papers to give them that messy, vintage look. While the chipboards are still drying, I grabbed some 8.5″ x 11″ white “heavy” card stock (heavy is very important) as this card stock is able to handle multiple spray colors and paints used on top without shredding.

Next, I grabbed my Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays and begin spraying the papers, starting with the lightest color first to prevent the darker colors from bleeding into the lighter ones, creating a huge mess.  If you prefer a “darker” look, any way you spray them works.  After the pages dry I grab some flower stamps from my stash and stamp them with black pigment ink. This is also very important, if you plan to paint on top of the stamp, the pigment ink is colorfast, staying crisp. Dye inks will fade and spear when other colors and mediums are added. I used sprays, water colors, acrylics, embossing powder and gold dimensional sprays to get this look and feel.

nanikiolaproj3d

To finalize the project I used my hole punch, punching a series of holes 1/2″ from the left edge. Spacing the holes 1″ apart allowed for five holes. To bind the book together I used some black elastic banding and sewed it through the holes.  I hope you like this JJ as much as I do and if you are interested in purchasing some of these yummy shabbylicious papers for yourself the supply list is below.

I also recorded a short video to show you all the yummies in my junk journal. Thank you so much for looking and please show me some love on my instagram @theswaggyplanner.

XOXOXO~ Kimmy

Supply list:

Messy Head Collection Kit 7 Dots Studio
Pink Orange and Gold Ombre Washi Tape
Lindy’s Stamp Gang Drink Me silly Starburst Sprays

