Capture Life: 12×12 Layout

I am super excited to be asked to join the Nani Ke Ola design team!  The store is chalk full of wonderful 7 Dots Studio collections and when I found this old picture of my sister’s family, it felt so at home with paired with this Lost and Found Typewriter paper that this layout was born.

I began by placing my picture off center of the paper then layering a collection of Lost and Found tags around it until I was satisfied with the overall look.  I always like to snap a shot of my design so I am sure I can replicate the exact placement later.

With all the elements removed, I began by taking my Soulmates-squares mask and applying a thin layer of molding paste to the paper. I set this aside dry.

Next I took my paint brush and began with a random coat of walnut stain. Make sure you give your layers time to dry before beginning again.  Next I came back in with a brush heavy with Lindy’s Stamp Gang (LSG) “Blazing Sun” and “Incandescent Copper” from the Autumn Leaves-side kicks and dotted the colors here and there.  I let the paint flow around the stencil design.  The colors are rich and have a gorgeous shimmer to them that just doesn’t translate well in photos.

Choose a few of your favorite stamps and black archival ink to add more interest to your design.  I also came back at this point with the 7 Dots Studio-Destination Unknown-Stencil and randomly placed roman numerals and flying birds.

 Finally all the chipboard pieces received a coat of black paint followed by spattering from the LSG-Autumn Leaves-Side Kicks.

Before placing my picture I glued down some waded up black thread and black netting and mounted the picture on some thick cardboard.

Tip: save all of those threads, buttons, and such that come attached to your garments.  They make perfect accessories for your layouts!

Thank you for stopping by to have a look.  I hope what you have seen will inspire you to let your own creativity take flight. Please stop by the store to see what’s new or just to stock up on your favorite items!

Supplies Used:

