DIY Shabby Chic Pocket Letter

NKODT2PIC4

Hi Y’all,

Kim here to share with you my first design team project for Nani Ke Ola Scrapbooking.  I am so excited to be here and proud to be a part of this amazing group of talented designers.

Today my project is a Shabby Chic Pocket Letter.  For this letter I chose to use Nani Ke Ola’s most gorgeous shabby papers straight from Poland, Spring Garden by Craft & You Design.

NKODT2PIC1

When I begin creating my pocket letters I usually decide on a theme straightaway. Today my theme is “shabby chic” and Spring Garden was the perfect paper choice for this project. I also used two 12 x 12 sheets of the Vintage Time cutting elements, the one with the girls on it and the one with the vintage cards. I also used a bunch of lace, ribbons, and whatever else I could get my hands on. I throw everything out on the table and get started.

First, I chose nine sheets of paper and cut one rectangle 2 1/2″ by 3 1/2″ (ATC size) from each. Set aside the extra pieces, you may need them later to help layer your cards.  Second, I fussy cut the images I planned to use on my cards (the Vintage Time images are too large in their standard shape so fussy cutting is necessary).

After I cut the images I sprayed them with Lindy’s Stamp Gang (LSG)-Cosmopolitan Pink and then quickly wiped off the excess with a tissue. I did this so that they “pop” off the page a little.  At this point, you can begin layering your bits and pieces to the cards. First, I grabbed the lace and started gluing it down using my glue gun. TIP: If you want to make sure your project ships well, hot glue is one of the most secure adhesives around.  Next, I began layering the images on top of the lace, adding stickers, wood embellishments, and buttons on as I went. At this point the pocket letter is almost complete.

To finalize the project I decided which pocket to place each card inside. Finally, I cut banner pieces from the leftover papers. Each banner is 1″ x 1 1/2″. To create the flag/notch at the bottom, I marked a dot in the center and cut from point to point. To attach the banners to the twine I ran a small line of glue across the back of each banner and placed it onto the twine. Let that dry for a bit of time. TIP: It’s best to place the banners on the twine before gluing the whole thing to your project so they line up striaght. (I’ve made the mistake of not doing it this way and it ended up looking cray cray, lol).

Now all you have to do is add your letter, tea bag, sequins, and other little goodies you plan on sending your pen pal. 🙂 This little pocket letter is looking for a friend so she’s available. If you have one made and would like to swap let me know. I hope you enjoy this tutorial. I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to comment below and I will respond as I get them. Thank you! Have a wonderful week.

XOXO
~ Kimmy

NKODT2PIC2 NKODT2PIC3 NKODT2PIC5

Supplies Used:

Spring Garden 6×6 Papers
Vintage cutting elements Girls
Vintage cutting elements 2
Lindy’s Stamp Gang Drink Me silly Starburst set of 5

