Donating to Breast Cancer Research

Can you believe its October already!!!! I feel like we were just celebrating the beginning of September. I hope you all have enjoyed what the creative design team has brought you this past month, and we have some more fun things to bring you this month too.

On a more serious note. This month, October, the markets flood with pink memorabilia, everyone asking for donations, buy pink, etc. Well, Nani ke Ola is jumping on the bandwagon too.

15% of net proceeds of all orders this entire month will be donated to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

There is a lot of foundations, but this foundation has so much information on their website, here’s just a few facts

  • 1 in 8 women will get breast cancer
  • 91% of all their donations go to research
  • Funds support over 200 researchers in 12 countries
  • many more! Go to the webpage and check it out!

The scrapbooking community is such a warm and welcoming community, and it is predominately female. I would assume that almost every single one of us have been affected by breast cancer in one way or another.

For me, both my mother and my grandmother had breast cancer. I remember when my mother had cancer, I was 15, and we had just moved to a new city. I was a horrible brat, as most teenagers are at that age. I didn’t really understand, the only thing I knew was that I couldn’t wear perfume in the house or my mom would get sick. My grandmother came to stay with us for about a month, and I remember her pulling me aside and yelling at me to start behaving and help my mom who was going through a tough time. I will always remember that. Grandmothers are very sweet most of the time, but when they have had enough, they will be very direct in their orders. Oh, I changed my attitude after that, I started making dinner and cleaning up a lot more after that. My mother is still alive today, still cancer free. A success story.

Please feel free to comment below and share your story. The more awareness to this, the more success stories we will have.

Oh, and for all you “frozen” scrapbook ladies that still want to help out, have no fear. Check out this page, and you can donate directly to the BCRF. The goal for the month is $500, including the net proceeds from sales. So, check back in not only during the month, but at the end and see how far PAST the goal we make it!

BCRF image

